The other day I partook in a great American pastime. Playing baseball? Eating apple pie? Going to WalMart?

Fuck no. I went car shopping.

Car dealerships have come a long way since the dank, dimly lit showrooms of years past.

Today, you can walk into a an area that looks more like a museum bistro than a car store. Massive flat panel TV, floor to ceiling windows, COFFEE, even a toy room to deposit the children. On the surface, who the hell wouldn’t want to spend the better part of a Saturday afternoon on a cushy leather couch, eating popcorn, watching a Family Ties rerun?

However, there comes a point (somewhere between the 2nd hour and Lloyd running back to the manager’s office to run some figures) where you realize where you are. You aren’t at that museum, sipping a latte watching your children get smarter. You are drinking mediocre, at best, coffee, watching someone die on CNN while your son belts your daughter over the head with a germ infested broken plastic tractor. Oh, and you are at a mother effin car dealership in the middle of a gorgeous Saturday afternoon.

The longer you wait for what you want, the more inclined to develop a deep loathing for not only your intended purchase, but also for the location where that purchase is located.

2 hours later, I now hate this car dealership, I hate the salesman, I hate cars and I am starting to develop an unhealthy hatred for CNN.

All because I had to wait for what I wanted.

Unfortunately, the same happens with information presented on your website. The landing page is awesome; Pretty graphics, warm tones and carefully thought out content. However, as you search deeper, clicking down through the site, the more frustrated you become. The landing page heightens your interest, yet the more excited you become and the more questions you have, the more you become disappointed in your findings. Content fails when it’s unable to keep up with the pace of its audience.

I almost feel bad for that car dealership. After 2 hours I walked out. They simply took too long to get me what I needed. I know the exact car I want, and I know I can find it somewhere else. The next dealership might not have the fancy couch or the big tv. But if they have a chair for me to sit down and can get me what I need in a timely manner, they’ll have my business.

